Order of the Arrow


For more than 100 years, the Order of the Arrow (OA) has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. This recognition provides encouragement for others to live these ideals as well. Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit, promoting year-round and long term resident camping, and providing cheerful service to others. OA service, activities, adventures, and training for youth and adults are models of quality leadership development and programming that enrich and help to extend Scouting to America’s youth.


The Transatlantic Council is home to the Black Eagle Lodge of the Order of the Arrow.
Within Black Eagle Lodge, there are six chapters, each serving a district of the council:

  • Lakota Chapter (Barbarossa District)
  • Mantowagan Chapter (Charlemagne District)
  • Achwon Woapalanne Chapter (Edelweiss District)
  • Desert Eagle Chapter (Horizon District)
  • Namassakett Chapter (Mayflower District)
  • Mamchachmelendam Chapter (Mediterranean District)


The Order of the Arrow was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America. It became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934. In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA’s national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the Boy Scouts of America. In 1998, the Order of the Arrow became recognized as Scouting’s National Honor Society when it expanded its reach beyond camping to include broader service to Scouting and the community.


The National Order of the Arrow Committee, after months of collaborative work with ceremonialists and lodge leadership representatives, announce the following policy change. This policy change will apply to ALL Order of the Arrow lodges and chapters.

We know that lodges and chapters are frequently asked to perform Arrow of Light and crossover ceremonies for Cub Scout packs, which is an appropriate service in support of our packs. That said, we have had many complaints surrounding these ceremonies from various American Indian tribes due to the manner in which they are conducted as well as the inconsistent nature in which they are performed.

Beginning January 1, 2019, lodges and chapters that are asked to conduct Arrow of Light or crossover ceremonies for Cub Scout packs will only be permitted to conduct them using the new, approved official ceremonies, which can be found in the OA Inductions Portal. (See below)

These ceremonies are to be conducted in a Scout uniform and are no longer permitted to be done in American Indian regalia. 



The Order of the Arrow is led by youth leadership. The lodge and chapters each have a youth who serves as Chief, as well as Vice Chiefs.

The Black Eagle Lodge Leadership:

Chapter Leadership:


Black Eagle Lodge, Order of the Arrow
Lakota Chapter Order of the Arrow TAC-BSA
Mamchachwelendam Chapter for Black Eagle Lodge #482
Manunsku Mpul Clan (BEL 482)

OA 2019 Election Form

Click the link below to access the OA 2019 Election Packet. This packet contains nearly everything an election team could need to conduct an election.

‌‌‌ OA Election Packet

A message from the Black Eagle Lodge leadership:


© 2018 Transatlantic Council - Boy Scouts of America – All Rights Reserved